Alexander Fiterstein

Clarinetist Alexander Fiterstein is recognized for playing which combines flawless technique and consummate musicianship with graceful phrasing and a warm soulful tone. Considered one of today’s most exceptional clarinet players, he has performed in recital and with prestigious orchestras and chamber music ensembles throughout the world.

Peabody Institute 

 of The Johns Hopkins University


Alexander Fiterstein is Professor of Clarinet and Chair of Winds at the Peabody Institute of The Johns Hopkins University. 


Through comprehensive excellent education, the Peabody Institute nurtures talent and creativity; provides aspiring musicians with the skills to sustain professional careers; fosters lifelong involvement in music and dance; and prepares students in artistic performance at the highest level, providing inspiration and enlightenment to regional, national and international communities.

More Information:
Peabody Website
Audition & Apply

Audition Requirements

Undergraduate clarinet auditioners should prepare:

  • Mozart Concerto in A major, K. 622, slow movement

and one of the following:

  • Weber Concerto No 1 in F minor, 1st or 3rd movement
  • Weber Concerto No. 2 in E-flat major, 1st or 3rd movement
  • Mozart Concerto in A major, K. 622, 1st or 3rd movement
  • Weber Concertino, Op 26
  • May include any standard repertoire piece which best represents their performance level and technical proficiency

The graduate repertoire in clarinet is patterned after a typical undergraduate senior recital. In order to provide some latitude, the requirements are not dictated. However, you must prepare sufficient material to perform a full solo recital containing works which show a diversity of periods and styles.

In addition to those general requirements, graduate students should include several contrasting orchestral excerpts of the applicants’ choice.

Artist Diploma
AD applicants in clarinet must prepare a program of no less than 70 minutes duration, representing at least three style periods and including at least two large-scale works.

© 2019 Alexander Fiterstein, All Rights Reserved.